Communication pathway (AA)

Communication pathway (AA)

Communication pathway (AA)

Communication pathway, AA & Certificates



The Communication pathway promotes the effective and ethical practice of human communication, allowing students to explore how people use messages to generate meanings within and across various contexts, cultures, channels and media. This pathway is designed to help students transfer to a university as a Communication major and prepares them for an ever expanding variety of careers.


Degree Map

Communication Studies Faculty


Sandra Rath, Ph.D.
San Tan Campus, D117
sandra.rath@centralaz.edu


Michelle Young, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus, T109
520-494-5063
michelle.young1@centralaz.edu


Ruth Butler, Ph.D.
Maricopa Campus, B118F
ruth.butler@centralaz.edu

English (Literature) pathway (AA)

English (Literature) pathway (AA)

English (Literature) pathway (AA)

English Literature pathway, AA



The English (Literature) pathway allows students to explore the world of literature as they read and analyze classic and modern texts. This pathway is designed to help students transfer to a university as an English major and prepares them for an ever expanding variety of careers.


Degree Map

Faculty and Staff

Karen Hindhede

Karen Hindhede, M.A.
Literary Arts & Languages
Division Chair
520-494-5074
karen.hindhede@centralaz.edu

Michelle Gomez

Michelle Gomez
Literary Arts & Languages
Academic Division Assistant
520-494-5380
michelle.gomez@centralaz.edu

Shelley Decker

Shelley Decker, M.A.
Lead Faculty
Signal Peak Campus, L108
520-494-5393
shelley.decker@centralaz.edu

Kolette Draegan

Kolette Draegan, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus, O124
520-494-5316
kolette.draegan@centralaz.edu

Maria Eastin

Maria Eastin, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus, L105
520-494-5056
maria.eastin@centralaz.edu


Lynn Gelfand, Ph.D.
Maricopa Campus, B118H
520-494-6427
lynn.gelfand@centralaz.edu

Alyson Hanson

Alyson Hanson, M.Ed.
Professor of Reading & Humanities
Superstition Mountain Campus, F124
480-677-7768
alyson.hanson@centralaz.edu


Tim Hohmann, M.F.A.
Superstition Mountain Campus, F123
480-677-7725
tim.hohmann@centralaz.edu

Tatiana Keeling

Tatiana Keeling, Ph.D.
Signal Peak Campus, O120
520-494-5462
tatiana.keeling@centralaz.edu

Mary Kieser

Mary Kieser, M.Ed.
Signal Peak Campus, O116
520-494-5337
mary.kieser@centralaz.edu

Kinsey McKinney

Kinsey McKinney, M.F.A, M.A.
Aravaipa Campus, A109
520-357-2827
kinsey.mckinney@centralaz.edu

Professor Heather Moulton

Heather Moulton, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus, O119
520-494-5384
heather.moulton@centralaz.edu

Mark Silvia

Mark Silvia, M.A.
Lead Faculty
San Tan Campus, D112
480-677-7827
mark.silvia@centralaz.edu

Professor Skyla Teel

Skyla Teel, M.Ed.
Professor of Reading
Signal Peak Campus, O117
skyla.teel@centralaz.edu


Tenie Zarifian, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus, L109
520-494-5571
tenie.zarifian@centralaz.edu

Adjunct Faculty- (A few of our many adjunct professors are below).

Christi Britt

Christi Britt, M.Ed.
Adjunct Professor
christi.britt@centralaz.edu

Professor James Keyworth

James Keyworth, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
james.keyworth@centralaz.edu

Professor Annetta Lasley

Annetta Lasley, M.A.
Adjunct Professor
annetta.lasley@centralaz.edu

English Education pathway (AA)

English Education pathway (AA)

English Education pathway (AA)

English Secondary Education pathway, AA



The English (Secondary Education) pathway prepares students for transfer to a university for secondary education with an English concentration.


Degree Map

Spanish pathway (AA)

Spanish pathway (AA)

Spanish pathway (AA)

Spanish pathway, AA



The Spanish program at Central Arizona College strives to provide students with the skills necessary to read, write, speak, and listen, as well as understand the cultural norms, values, beliefs and regional variations where Spanish is spoken. This pathway is designed to help students transfer to a university as a Spanish or Spanish Education major or provides them with a degree that is ideal as a double-major for many programs, as knowledge of Spanish assists with nearly all career opportunities.


Degree Map

Spanish Language Faculty

Michael Owens

Michael Owens, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus, L110
520-494-5381
michael.owens4@centralaz.edu

John Prevost

John Prevost, M.A.
Signal Peak Campus,O118
520-494-5386
john.prevost@centralaz.edu