CAC Nursing Graduates Spring 2018

56th Class of Nursing Graduates Recognized during Central Arizona College Nursing Pinning Ceremony

 By Angela Askey, Executive Director of Public Relations & Marketing

Nineteen Central Arizona College students were recognized for completing the college’s nursing program during the 56th Nursing Division Pinning Ceremony held at the Signal Peak Campus on May 10. Of these 19, seven of the students were among the first to complete the NAU Concurrent Enrollment Program.

The pinning ceremony, a time-honored tradition of nursing schools across the country, signifies a student’s completion of one of the most challenging curricula offered in higher education.

CAC President, Dr. Jackie Elliott provided a warm welcome and Denise Dion, Professor of Nursing, addressed the graduates.

 Professor Dion explained the importance of showing care to others and how important this is for being a nurse. She recited Mother Teresa’s Poem, Do it Anyway.

Once the graduates received their pins, class speaker Edward Aguirre provided encouragement to his fellow graduates, “You’re going to feel like quitting. You’re going to struggle…but…You’ll rise, because your strength as a nurse is not determined by one grade, one failure, one repeated semester, one shift or one job – it’s an ongoing journey of learning, honor, humility and a chance to make even the smallest difference in the lives of your patients.”

Jenny Yheulon  was recognized with the Excellence in Clinical award and Cheryl Pedro earned the program’s Academician Award.

CAC Nursing Club (CASNA) officers received a certificate of appreciation and cord. The co-presidents acknowledged include Edward Aguirre, Jesseca Mares, Cheryl Pedro, and Gloria Perrino.

The evening concluded with a candle lighting ceremony and the graduates taking the Florence Nightingale Pledge. The pledge, an adaption of the physician’s Hippocratic Oath, was written in 1893 by Mrs. Lystra E. Gretter and the Farrand Training School for Nurses in Detroit.

The following students received their pins during the ceremony and will receive an associate of applied science degree:

Edward Aguirre*    

Brianna Alvarez    

Omar Barba      

Anne Bordwell*   

Patricia Canning   

Alejandra Cano*   

Salena Gomez  

Ivonne Heraldez  

Quennie Limbo 

Roy Mahan* 

Jesseca Mares*          

Hahn Miller             

Jocelyn Noriega*   

Cheryl Pedro*

Gloria Perrino

Carlyn Taylor

Belen Valencia

Michelle Wancura

Jenny Yheulon


*Indicates students who completed the NAU/CEP