All Arizona Awards 2017

2017 All Arizona Scholarship recipients

Left to right: Thao Nguyen, Cheyenne Dickey, Dominic Savana, Justin Huxel, and Edna Garcia

All-Arizona / All-USA Academic Teams

Contact the Phi Theta Kappa Advisor at your campus for more information.
Aravaipa Campus: Maren Wilson, 520-357-2825,
San Tan: Dr. Sandy Rath, 480-677-7836,
Signal Peak/Maricopa: Heather Moulton, 520-494-5384,
Superstition Mountain: Stacie Kyhn, 480-677-7802,

What it Means to be a Team Member
Each year students from the district are selected to represent CAC on the All-Arizona / All-USA Academic Team. Those students earn state-wide acclaim in the media and attend a celebratory luncheon that is also attended by many CAC dignitaries. In some years, a CAC student has even been spotlighted for international recognition. These are the special awardees that you might have seen pictured in USA Today. But they are not the only winners. Application materials will become available on the Phi Theta Kappa website in October.

Every Arizona student on any of the All-Arizona/All-USA Academic Team is awarded a two-year scholarship to the student’s choice of one of our three state universities. ASU, UofA, and NAU are very pleased to welcome these academic stars to their campus. In addition, all five CAC members receive a cash scholarship as well.

Benefits and Process
Because the pay-off is so substantial, the competition is keen. Each applicant must complete an application package, which typically includes demographic data, GPA, essays on a designated topics and letters of recommendation, as well as whatever else the national committee has designated as competition requirements. Sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA Today, the All-USA Team’s national committee also establishes guidelines for criteria by which applications will be evaluated.
Although applicants are not required to be members of Phi Theta Kappa, CAC designates the Phi Theta Kappa Advisor(s) at each campus to coordinate the application process, which includes selecting a team to evaluate the applications. Most of the process takes place at the campus level, but the DHPS oversees the managing of the process. Students at all five campuses have the same deadlines as well as the same written requirements.

The application requirements are somewhat different each year. But expect this: in addition to achieving well academically, selected applicants have contributed to their community and are able to express themselves well.
Completing a scholarship application package is not an easy process. It takes time, and it takes skill. That skill is developed by students during the process, usually with the help of the Phi Theta Kappa Advisor and other supportive campus staff. For many students it is the first time they have applied for a large scholarship. Because students learn so much from the process, it could truly be said that everyone is a winner. Those who applied but were not selected are much better prepared to submit successful scholarship applications in the future.

For specific information about requirements and timeline, see your Phi Theta Kappa Advisor or contact either Dr. Carol Johnson, Professor of Honors, 520-494-5108, or the Honors office, 520-494-5380,

2016 – 2017 Scholarship Winners
Aravaipa Campus
•Cheyenne Dickey

Maricopa Campus
•Dominic Savana

San Tan Campus
•Thao Nguyen

Superstition Mountain Campus
•Edna Garcia

Signal Peak Campus
•Justin Huxel

Cheyenne Dickey, has also been selected as a 2017 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholar and student nominees! Selection as Coca-Cola Scholars was based on scores the students earned in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition, for which more than 1,700 applications were received this year. This program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Congratulations to Cheyenne!

ALL USA Scholarship workshops by Professor Heather Moulton- Schedule to be posted soon!