Three Central Arizona College Students Named Coca-Cola Scholars

By Angela Askey, Executive Director of Public Relations & Marketing

Three Central Arizona College students were recently named 2018 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team scholars. Sofya Pangburn, a student at the Signal Peak Campus and Berenice Pelayo, who attends the Superstition Mountain Campus are both awarded Silver Scholar recognition. Holly Langan of the San Tan Campus is a Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver, and 50 Bronze Scholars with nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each scholar also receives a commemorative medallion. Each Silver Scholar will receive a $1,250 scholarship and a silver medallion. Bronze Scholars receive a $1,000 scholarship and bronze medallion.

All three students were selected for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and engagement in college and community service. They all three plan to transfer to Arizona State University to further their education, with Pelayo pursuing a career with the U.S. Department of State as a Foreign Service officer, Pangburn striving to work for the United States government as a Political Foreign Service officer in order to support the United States with diplomacy abroad, and Langan, a Managerial Accountant.

Coca-Cola Academic Team members will be recognized internationally during Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention, PTK Catalyst, April 19-21 in Kansas City, Missouri.

Holly Langan                                          Sofya Pangburn                                           Berenice Pelayo

All Arizona First Team Member Holly LanganAll Arizona First Team Member Sofya PangburnBerenice Pelayo All Arizona Academic First Team Member