18 honored at CAC’s San Tan Campus student awards ceremony

By Guy Harrison, Media & Marketing Specialist

SAN TAN VALLEY, Ariz. - A total of 18 awards were presented to 18 students during Central Arizona College's student awards ceremony on April 30 at its San Tan Campus.

Jenni Gonzales, CAC's interim dean of student affairs, addressed the award winners at the outset of the ceremony.

"Today is all about you," she said. "We recognize you for the hard work you have dedicated to achieve such excellence."

In addition to the 18 student awards, English Professor Stephen Puklin was also honored as the San Tan Campus's Faculty Member of the Year:

Academic Plus Awards
Justin Easa (San Tan Valley)
Angelise Tang (San Tan Valley)
Alan Prefontaine (San Tan Valley)
Rafael Gallo (San Tan Valley)

Excellence in English
Sean Francisco (Florence)

Outstanding Education Student
Kimberly Lawrence (Mesa)

Great Improvement in Math
Rachel Gurolla (Florence)

Excellence in Math
Kaitlin Brian (San Tan Valley)

Outstanding STEM Student
Derrick Miller

Outstanding STEM Student - Mathematics
Killian Webb

Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Students
Jimmie Magee
Mikala Boddy

Tutor of the Year
Brian Field

Outstanding Student of the Year
Cassandra Lawrence

Most Engaged Student
Ginia Pena

Perseverance Award
Carlon Douglas

Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award
Ella Adair (San Tan Valley)

Faculty of the Year
Stephen Puklin

Who's Who Among American Junior College Students
Michael Zaragoza

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814