53rd Class of Nursing Graduates Recognized during Central Arizona College Nursing Pinning Ceremony

By Angela Askey, Executive Director of Public Relations and Marketing

Twenty-six Central Arizona College students were recognized for completing the college’s nursing program during the 53rd Nursing Division Pinning Ceremony held at the Signal Peak Campus on December 15.

The pinning ceremony, a time-honored tradition of nursing schools across the country, signifies a student’s completion of one of the most challenging curricula offered in higher education.

After a warm welcome by Vice President of Academic Affairs, Mary Kay Gilliland and CAC President, Jackie Elliott, the graduates were then addressed by Tina Berry, Director of Nursing. 

Once the graduates received their pins, class speaker Sue Ann Johnson proclaimed the importance of remaining humble and kind. 

Additionally, awards were given to a select few graduates. Nicholas Greathouse was recognized with the Leadership Award, Laura Crosby-Steele earned the program’s Academician Award and Egypt West was presented with the Outstanding Clinician Award.

CAC Nursing Club (CASNA) members who received a certificate of appreciation and cord include; Mayra Pulver, Nicholas Greathouse, Sue Ann Johnson, Gabriela Ponce, Matthew Smith, and Laura Crosby-Steele.

Nicholas Greathouse and Sue Ann Johnson were recognized as members of SNAAZ, the state nursing club.

Recognition cords were presented to Jolene O’Connor and Tanna Brown for their participation in the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) club.

The evening concluded with a candle lighting ceremony and the graduates taking the Florence Nightingale Pledge. The pledge, an adaption of the physician’s Hippocratic Oath, was written in 1893 by Mrs. Lystra E. Gretter and the Farrand Training School for Nurses in Detroit.

The following students received their pins during the ceremony and will receive an associate of applied science degree:

Amber Alston (Florence, AZ)

Tanna Brown (Florence, AZ)

Lindsey Carter (Gilbert, AZ)

Hayley Epke (San Tan Valley, AZ)

Jennifer Gitlin (San Tan Valley, AZ)

Nicholas Greathouse (Florence, AZ)

Tamisha Irving (Maricopa, AZ)

Sue Ann Johnson (Casa Grande, AZ)

Victoria Lawyer (Casa Grande, AZ)

Yanira Lizarraga (Florence, AZ)

Sonya Martinez (Eloy, AZ)

Tigest Maru (Queen Creek, AZ)

Charity Mbuya (Florence, AZ)

Francisco Medina (Casa Grande, AZ)

Christine Morey (San Tan Valley, AZ)

Jolene O’Connor (San Tan Valley, AZ)

Gabrielle Perez (Maricopa, AZ)

Gabriela Ponce (Florence, AZ)

Mayra Pulver (Arizona City, AZ)

Matthew Smith (San Tan Valley, AZ)

Laura Crosby-Steele (Casa Grande, AZ)

Jessica Terry (San Tan Valley, AZ)

Shannon Tuke (Maricopa, AZ)

Leticia Valencia Galindo (Florence, AZ)

Egypt West (Coolidge, AZ)

Jeremy Williams (San Tan Valley, AZ)


Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814