Central Arizona College Honors Maricopa Campus Students

By Angela Askey, Executive Director Public Relations and Marketing

Students at Central Arizona College’s Maricopa Campus were recently recognized for their outstanding achievements.

Dominic Savana was named the campus’s Most Engaged Student of the Year and Heber Riggs received Outstanding First Year Student honors. The College honored Michael Blondin with the Outstanding Veteran Student Award.

In addition to the student awards, Heather Moulton, Professor of English was awarded the Faculty of the Year Award for her work in the classroom.

The following students were recognized by specific departments for their accomplishments:

Academic Plus Awards 

Isaac Talavera Aguilar


Excellence in Speech Communications

Dominic Savana


Culinary Arts Student of the Year

Tammy Johnson

Lawrence Donald II


Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student of the Year

Laura Loera

Tara Gallegos


Tutor of the Year

Henry Luna


Noether-Leibniz Math Award

Tristan Neely

Twila Kulinowski


Outstanding Physical Sciences Student

Joshua Hammer


Outstanding Biological Sciences Student

Thomas Velasquez


Outstanding Social and Behavioral Science Student  

Jared Barney

Betty Jean Wright


Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Member

Brendan Onquit


All-Arizona Academic Team

Cassandra Holcombe – All-Arizona Academic Second Team Honors


Recognition for Student Leadership Team

Christina Tull, President

Daniela Perez, Vice President

Cassandra Holcombe, PR and Marketing

Marcene Hoover-Bennett, Historian

Scott Gillum, Secretary

Cory Lehman, PR and Marketing

In addition to the individual awards, 10 students were honored by Who’s Who Among American Junior College Students; Guadalupe Arroyo, Ember Eck, Lizeth Escarcega, Cassandra Holcombe, Marcene Hoover-Bennett, Brenna Janssen, Maria McBride, Brendan Onquit, Dominic Savana, and Ryan Stilwell.


Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814