Central Arizona College Honors Maricopa Campus Students

By Angela Askey, Director of Marketing

Central Arizona College recently held a student awards ceremony at its Maricopa Campus to recognize students for their outstanding achievements.

Isaac Talavera-Aguilar was named the campus’s Most Engaged Student of the Year and Corey Lehman received Outstanding First Year Student honors. The College honored Nathan Ford with the Early College Award.

In addition to the student awards, Ruth Butler, Professor of Communication Studies was awarded the Faculty of the Year Award for her work in the classroom.

Academic Plus Awards

Nancy Jacques

Gretchen Lauderbach


Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award

Travis Cuevas


Business Student of the Year 

Reginald Patterson


Culinary Arts Student of the Year

Segunda Maamo


Early Childhood Education Student of the Year

Hilda Polacek


Education Student of the Year

Josephine Barrand


Speech Communication Student of the Year

Elexis Rogers


Mathematics Student of the Year Award 

Alicia Carder


Distinguished Phi Theta Kappa Officer

Maria McBride


Outstanding Science Student

Henry Luna

Lauren Loveall


Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Student

Joseph Gagliano

Bobbie Rose


STEM Student of the Year

Mark Jory


Tutor of the Year

Henry Luna


All-Arizona Academic Team

Socorro Carrillo – All-Arizona Academic Team Honors


Recognition for Student Leadership Team

Cathlyn Hernandez, President

Melissa Sikes, Vice President

Daniela Perez, Marketing Coordinator

James Donnelly, Treasurer

Yessica Salazar, Volunteer Coordinator

Andrea Castano, Volunteer Coordinator

In addition to the individual awards, 13 students were honored by Who’s Who Among American Junior College Students: Socorro Carrillo, Jeremy Davis, Ember Eck, Shari Ford, Markas Fussell, Cathlyn Hernandez, Gretchen Lauderbach, Segunda Maaamo, Miranda Ware, and Melissa Sikes.

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814