Central Arizona College Honors Aravaipa Campus Students

By Angela Askey, Executive Director Public Relations and Marketing

Students at Central Arizona College’s Aravaipa Campus were recently recognized for their outstanding achievements.

Manuel Chavez, III was named the campus’s Most Engaged Student of the Year and Izaak Hernandez received Outstanding First Year Student honors.

In addition to the student awards, Diana Polanco was presented the J. Luz Hernandez Award for her support of the college and contributions to the community.

Academic Plus Awards 

Andrea Laguna

Luke Cunningham

Mireya Tamayo

Cassandra Madrid

Cierra Austin

Daniel Fessenden 

Angelina Flores

Rosalia Marquez

Michelle Kaufhold

Triston Gantt


Outstanding Part Time Student

Bernadette Estrada


Outstanding Education Student

Cheyenne Dickey


Excellence in English 

Bailee Smith-Garcia

Outstanding Engineering/Technology Student

Randolf Verdugo, Jr.


Pascal-Sommerville Math Award 

Haleigh Osborn


Outstanding Veteran Student Award

Mario Mariscal


Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Member

DeAnna Martinez


Outstanding Biology Student

Matthew Fode


Outstanding Anatomy and Physiology Student

Aaron Lagunas


Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Student

Leticia Reidhead

Mireya Tamayo


All-Arizona Academic Team

Edward Aguirre – All-Arizona Academic Third Team Honors


Recognition for Student Leadership Team

Lawrence Polanco

Manuel Chavez III

Edward Aguirre

John Alba

Samantha Sampson

In addition to the individual awards, the following students were honored by Who’s Who Among American Junior College Students: Edward Aguirre, Cheyenne Dickey, Angelina Flores, Andrea Laguna, Cassandra Madrid and Leticia Reidhead.


Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814