33 students honored at Aravaipa Campus student awards ceremony

Aravaipa Academic Plus WinnersBy Guy Harrison, Media & Marketing Specialist

WINKELMAN, Ariz. - A total of 47 awards were presented to 33 different students during Central Arizona College's student awards ceremony on April 15 at its Aravaipa Campus.

Daniel Madrid (Mammoth/ San Manuel HS) was tabbed as the campus's Most Engaged Student of the Year, while Jamie Begay (San Manuel/San Manuel HS) received Outstanding First Year Student honors.

"We're here to celebrate success, and success does not happen by accident," Debbie Foster, CAC's acting assistant dean of communications, mathematics and learning support said to the accomplished students and their friends and family in attendance.

In addition to the 47 student awards, one community member and one member of the faculty were also honored for their work in the classroom and the CAC community:

Academic Plus Awards
Jamie Begay
Jessica Castro (San Manuel/San Manuel HS)
Marcel Esquival (Mammoth)
Yvannah Gonzales (Kearny)
Nathan Gutierrez (Oracle/Canyon del Oro HS)
Roman Padilla (Winkelman/Hayden HS)
Kristine Smith (San Manuel/Canyon del Oro HS)
Bailee Smith-Garcia (San Manuel/San Manuel HS)
Rosetta Tafoya (Oracle/GED)
Debbie Thompson (San Manuel)

Excellence in English
Jason Moore (Mammoth/Ironwood HS)

Excellence in Literature
Kandace Kelly (Oracle/GED)

J. Luz Hernandez Award for Outstanding Community Member
Doris Haynes (San Manuel)

Outstanding Mathematics Student
Edward Aguirre (Hayden/Hayden HS)

Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Members
Edward Aguirre
Annie Hinojos (Kearny/Ray HS)

Outstanding Health Sciences Student
Lorena Villanueva (San Manuel/San Manuel HS)

Outstanding General Sciences Student
David Rowlands (San Manuel/GED)

Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Student
Michelle Kaufhold (Tempe/Marcos de Niza HS)

Outstanding Technology Student
John Gulaskey (Catalina HS)

All-Arizona Academic Team
Kandace Kelly - All-Arizona Academic Third Team
Lorena Villanueva - All-Arizona Academic First Team & All-USA Community College Academic Team

Student Public Policy Forum Representative
Annie Hinojos

Recognition for Student Leadership Team
Maritza Estrada (San Manuel/San Manuel HS)
Josette Kimmel (Hayden/Ray HS)
Daniel Madrid
Eleni Miller (Hayden/Byrd HS)
Lawrence Polanco (San Manuel/San Manuel HS)

Non-Academic Awards
Lynda Dickey (Kearny/Silver City HS (N.M.)) (Tutor of the Year)
Daniel Madrid (Most Engaged Student)
Jamie Begay (Outstanding First Year Student)
Patrick Avelar (Kearny/Ray HS) (Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award)

Faculty of the Year
Dr. Beth Krueger

In addition to the individual awards, 17 students were honored by Who's Who Among American Junior College Students.

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814