Aravaipa Campus celebrates student success with Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony

EASTERN PINAL COUNTY, Ariz. – Five students and one faculty member at Central Arizona College’s Aravaipa Campus are the latest inductees into Phi Theta Kappa. 

Shantelle Archunde, Cheyenne Dickey, Kandace Kelly, David Rowlands and Lorena Villanueva, along with CAC faculty member Maren Wilson, were inducted during a ceremony on Tuesday evening, April 16. 

Benny DeSantiago, one of CAC’s coordinators of community outreach, became an honorary inductee for his service to the Alpha Theta Delta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the Aravaipa Campus. 

The ceremony included the installation of new Phi Theta Kappa officers for the Aravaipa Campus. Archunde was selected as president, while Rowlands was named vice president and Mercedes Lopez was elected to fill the role of secretary. 

Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is two-fold - recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students, and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. 

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814