50 students honored at SMC student awards ceremony

By Guy Harrison, Media & Marketing Specialist

APACHE JUNCTION, Ariz. - A total of 58 awards were presented to 50 different students during Central Arizona College's student awards ceremony on April 12 at its Superstition Mountain Campus.

Melissa Gardner (Anaheim, CA/Katella) was tabbed as the campus' Most Engaged Student of the Year, while Lindsey Hernandez (Dubuque, IA/Gilbert) received Outstanding First Year Student honors.

"For those of us who educate students, events like this are icing on the cake," Dr. James Moore, CAC's acting vice president of learning services, said to the accomplished students and their friends and family in attendance.

In total, 30 awards were given to 21 different students and one member of the faculty for their work in the classroom and the CAC community:

Outstanding Business Student
Christina Rowden (San Tan Valley/Mingus Union)

Outstanding Ceramics Student
Andrea Escanuela (Apache Junction, AZ/Apache Junction)
EMT Student of the Year
Richard Matthews (Superior, AZ/Apache Junction)

Firefighter of the Year
Lyle Wyatt (Gold Canyon, AZ/Apache Junction)

Outstanding Student in Massage Therapy
Ramon McGrew (Apache Junction, AZ/Apache Junction)

Outstanding Honors Colloquium Student
Cole McClary (Gold Canyon, AZ/Home Schooled)

Outstanding Honors Seminar Student
Jordyn Weichens (Apache Junction, AZ/Home Schooled)

Outstanding Math Student
Cole McClary

Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Students
Jennette Gutierrez (Queen Creek, AZ/Queen Creek)
Heather Mendes (Truckee, CA/Desert Ridge)

Outstanding Radiology Student
Michael Mejia (Queen Creek, AZ)

Outstanding Science Student
Jordyn Weichens

SMC Cultural Geography Award
Matthew Adams (Mesa, AZ/Westwood)
Joseph Bonacci (Rochester, NY/Apache Junction)

Tutor of the Year
Miriam Wilson (Murray, Utah/Murray)

All-Arizona Academic Team
Jo Beaudry (Apache Junction, AZ/GED)
Melissa Gardner

Recognition for Creation of SMPride Student Organization
Jo Beaudry
Melissa Gardner
Cristina Hatler (Sacramento, CA/Dublin)

Recognition for Student Leadership Team
Jeff Bunkelman (Advisor)
Mariah Cole (Apache Junction, AZ/Apache Trail)
Leticia Berry (Apache Junction, AZ/Apache Junction)
Andra Ramage (Apache Junction, AZ)
Jordyn Wiechens
Daryn Campbell (Queen Creek, AZ/Home Schooled)
Cole McClary

Non-Academic Awards
Melissa Gardner (Most Engaged Student)
Lindsey Hernandez (Outstanding First Year Student)

Faculty of the Year
Maryliz Pierce
In addition to the individual awards, 29 students were honored by Who's Who Among American Junior College Students.

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814