CAC students from A.J., Queen Creek, Mesa, & Golden Canyon earn PTK induction at SMC

April 28, 2009
APACHE JUNCTION, Ariz. – A plethora of Central Arizona College students earned induction into the Alpha Theta Delta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on Monday evening, April 27, during a ceremony held at the Superstition Mountain Campus in Apache Junction, Ariz.
Six students from Apache Junction, two each from Gold Canyon and Mesa, and five from Queen Creek were inducted as local cities and areas were well represented during the program. Students from Payson, Florence and Safford also were welcomed into the chapter.
The following 18 students received the honors during the ceremony at the Superstition Mountain Campus. If provided, their hometowns and high schools have been included:

Inductee (Hometown/High School)
Ian Cockrill (Apache Junction, AZ)      
Courtnee Colburn (Apache Junction, AZ)        
Zachary Conover (Apache Junction, AZ/Apache Junction)
Miriam Davis (Mesa, AZ/Mesa)
Jamie Fulcher (Mesa, AZ)       
Madalyn Leigh (Apache Junction, AZ)
Chandra Mayer (Apache Junction, AZ)
Travis Morgan (Gold Canyon, AZ)
Jessica McCamy (Safford, AZ/Safford)
Christin Morris (Queen Creek, AZ)
Brent Murdock (Queen Creek, AZ)
Heather Noel (Queen Creek, AZ)
Jodi O'Malley (Gold Canyon, AZ)
Ashleigh Prosser (Queen Creek, AZ)
Kathy Richardson (Payson, AZ)
Kristie Shepherd (Florence, AZ)
Kayla Stimbert (Apache Junction, AZ)
Angelica Valtierra (Queen Creek, AZ)

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students.
The society provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.
Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located in the United States, U.S. Territories, Canada and Germany.
In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Content on this page is provided by Public Information & Marketing.

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814